Basic Driver Improvement Ticket FAQs
I received a ticket in Florida and want to take traffic school, what do I do?
Within 30 days, you must inform the clerk of court in the county where you received the ticket that you would like to take basic driver improvement. You must also pay an "election" fee to the clerk of court.
Do I have to pay any fines if I complete traffic school?
Yes. If you do not know the amount, or it is not stated on your ticket, the Traffic Division of the Clerk of Court in the county where you received your citation will be able to provide the information on your fine.
When do I receive my certificate of completion?
Your completion certificate will be available to download within 7 business days of course completion. If you need your certificate sooner, you can purchase the Instant Digital Delivery option during checkout or after course completion to receive your certificate immediately.
Will taking a basic driver improvement course (BDIC) give me any discount on my ticket fines?
No. However, effective January 1, 2019, upcoming Florida legislature changes, will allow drivers who complete a BDIC to receive a 9% discount on their citation amount. Visit the Florida Senate website for more details about this legislation update.
What benefits will I receive after taking basic driver improvement?
If you complete traffic school as the result of 1 basic moving violation, you will receive the following:
- Your insurance premium will not increase and
- Your insurer cannot cancel your policy unless you were at fault
- Points will not be added to your record
How many times can I take traffic school?
You can take Florida traffic school once in a year period, but no more than 5 total times.
Do I need to confirm my identity to take the course?
Yes. In addition to providing your name, address and other personal information, you will need to answer security questions throughout the course to prove you completed your training unassisted.
Before you start your training, you'll be prompted to answer 10 yes or no questions about yourself. At the beginning of each course module and before some quizzes, one of these questions will appear on your screen. You then have 1 minute and 30 seconds to answer the question correctly.
If you miss four security questions, you will fail the course and will be required to re-register. Please contact customer support for assistance if you were locked out of the course due to technical difficulties.
What do I do if I get locked out of the course?
Students can be locked out of the course if they fail to answer at least 70% of the security questions used to confirm identity. If you were locked out of the course, you will need to register for the course again and restart your training. If you were locked out due to a technical issue, please contact our customer support team for assistance.
What do I do after getting my certificate?
You need to provide the completion certificate to the Clerk's office in the county where you received your citation. Each county clerk may have different requirements, so be sure to contact them first to find out.
What are the points for tickets in Florida?
|Moving Violations||3 points|
|Speeding 15 mph or less over speed limit||3 points|
|Speeding more than 15 mph over speed limit||4 points|
|Passing stopped school bus||4 points|
|Moving violation (non-speeding) resulting in an crash||4 points|
|Unlawful speed resulting in a crash||6 points|
|Reckless driving||4 points|
|Leaving scene of crash with damage||6 points|
|Violation of child restraint laws||3 points|